Arriving in February, the LEAF 2 was one of the most eagerly awaited EVs of the year in its range, that of an urban mid-size vehicle. With a range of 378 km NEDC, the LEAF delivers without flinching and with the right driving style around 280 km of real-world driving. The 40 kWh battery is therefore well optimised and, to achieve this result, the LEAF 2 offers ECO mode driving which limits acceleration and acceleration. Useful? In town, yes, with the added benefit of smoother driving. On the road, no, because the potential for overtaking or passing at 130 km/h is too low.

The ePedal: the really good idea

In the field of good ideas, the ePedal is the obvious choice. We have already mentioned it in these columns. The reality is even better than expected: when the foot is lifted from the accelerator, the LEAF switches to regenerative braking (like most EVs) but adds real, progressive braking. In the end, in the city, the use of the brake pedal becomes almost completely superfluous. Put your foot on the accelerator and the LEAF moves forward. Raise your foot, it brakes. Simple but incredibly effective.

Nissan Leaf
The new Nissan LEAF: the world’s best-selling zero-emissions electric vehicle now most advanced and accessible on the planet

 

Orders galore

On the control side, there’s a lot of them. Sometimes too many. On the steering wheel alone, there are 10 controls on the left, 9 on the right, for a total of 19 controls. Those that operate controls that are also accessible via the central screen could have been eliminated in favour of more intuitive ergonomics.

The screen, by the way, sometimes turns out to be too small. We would have liked more space for better readability. As it is, it is perfectly complete but is full of information. Last but not least, the needle tachometer. Anachronistic? In a car with that kind of on-board intelligence, yes. We would have liked a larger digital area to make it clearer again. It’s certainly flattering at first contact to have a 747 display in front of you, but once you get the hang of it, the only information you like to have in front of you at all times is simple: speed, fuel consumption, range and, if applicable, the GPS. Nothing less but nothing more either.

Nissan Leaf
The new Nissan LEAF: the world’s best-selling zero-emissions electric vehicle now most advanced and accessible on the planet

GPS and parking: objective achieved

The GPS is particularly noteworthy. Precise, clear, intuitive, it is displayed efficiently in front of the driver, doubled by a clear voice command. A very good point that even high-end sedans don’t always achieve. The same goes for the in-car camera system. They deliver an exemplary clarity of parking assistance, allowing multiple angles to be chosen to adjust parking to the pavement and obstacles. We almost wish, once again, that the central screen had been larger to take full advantage of it.

In terms of help and sensors, the blind spot detector is also appreciated. If the driver engages a passing manoeuvre without having seen a vehicle in his blind spot, LEAF will indicate this without fail. Valuable and devilishly effective, especially for two-wheelers that blend into the blind spot quite easily. On the other hand, the Pro PILOT is equipped with power steering (optional): adaptive cruise control is effective, but autonomous driving is still hesitant and the driver is reminded too often (hands on the wheel) compared to standards already developed by other brands. To be tested in a dealership during a trial run before committing yourself for an extra 1,000 euros, or to be reserved for traffic jams only.

Approval: well up to scratch

The driver’s cab and passenger seats offer remarkable comfort. The seating is excellent, and there is plenty of room for large passengers. The level of finish is also excellent. The LEAF offers only quality materials, perfectly finished and assembled, with a level of detail rarely found in this level of the range and which, once again, has nothing to envy from much more expensive sedans. We simply note a heated backrest system that is activated by a switch…on the backrest itself! A rather incongruous choice, it would have been much simpler to combine it with the seat heating control located on the dashboard.

Finally, there are plenty of storage spaces, even if of modest capacity. Contrary to popular belief, this is a good thing: the days when you put away your road maps and atlases are over. The LEAF offers enough space for two phones near the USB port, but also for sunglasses, a wallet and bottles for the road.

The trunk also offers a very respectable volume, even if you leave the cables supplied permanently in it: charging cable to a domestic socket, 6 metres, charging in 21 hours; to a 32A socket, also 6 metres, charging in 7 hours. The programmable charging system is also appreciated: ideal for charging the LEAF on your electricity subscription during off-peak hours.

Nissan Leaf
The new Nissan LEAF: the world’s best-selling zero-emissions electric vehicle now most advanced and accessible on the planet

To try it is to adopt it.

In the end, the new LEAF largely fulfils its promises. The central screen is a little small and the controls are abundant and ergonomically perfectible. The driving options are sometimes confusing and too much customization is required.

On the other hand, the autonomy is excellent and the battery perfectly managed. The level of finish and comfort is irreproachable. The onboard cameras are remarkably efficient and we recommend that they be taken as an option, as well as for automatic parking. Design and look are sharp, modern. With four levels of range, including a first level at 28,000 euros, the LEAF offers an excellent urban position with all the comfort needed to swallow up the road with complete peace of mind. There was a place to be taken between the mini city car and the large saloon, and the LEAF took it.

Nissan Leaf

One thought on “Test drive: what’s the new Nissan LEAF worth?

  1. Petit bémol à ajouter à la nouvelle Leaf:
    Sa gestion de l’échauffement des batteries ne s’est pas améliorée sur la nouvelle version. Le refroidissement passif de la batterie a pour malheureuse conséquence que, après une première recharge rapide par temps chaud ou modéré, il est nécessaire d’attendre plusieurs heures avant de pouvoir recharger à nouveau sur un chargeur rapide.
    En conséquence, il est virtuellement impossible de faire des trajets vraiment longs, comme Paris-Côte d’Azur en Leaf 2018. Quoique pour les sports d’hiver, ça devrait aller mieux…
    A par cet inconvénient, la nouvelle Leaf est vraiment agréable et le e-Pedal très bien dosé, comme vous le signalez!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Arrivée en février, la LEAF 2 était l’un des VE les plus attendus de l’année dans sa gamme, celle d’une urbaine de format intermédiaire. Avec 378 km NEDC d’autonomie, la LEAF délivre sans broncher et avec la conduite adaptée environ 280 km réels. La batterie de 40 kWh est donc bien optimisée et, pour atteindre ce résultat, la LEAF 2 propose une conduite en mode ECO qui limite les accélérations et reprises. Utile ? En ville, oui, au bénéfice notamment d’une conduite plus douce. Sur route, non, car le potentiel de reprise est alors trop diminué pour un dépassement ou une reprise à 130 km/h.

La ePedal : la vraie bonne idée

Au rayon des bonnes idées, la ePedal s’impose de suite. Nous l’avions déjà mentionnée dans ces colonnes. La réalité est encore supérieure aux attentes : lorsque le pied se lève de l’accélérateur, la LEAF passe en freinage récupératif (comme la plupart des VE) mais y ajoute un véritable freinage, progressif mais bien réel. Au final, en ville, l’usage de la pédale du frein devient presque totalement superflu. Posez le pied sur l’accélérateur, la LEAF avance. Levez le pied, elle freine. Simple mais d’une efficacité redoutable.

The new Nissan LEAF: the world’s best-selling zero-emissions electric vehicle now most advanced and accessible on the planet

Des commandes à foison

Côté contrôle, il y en beaucoup. Parfois, beaucoup trop. Sur le seul volant, il y a 10 commandes à gauche, 9 à droite, soit 19 commandes au total. Celles qui actionnent des commandes également accessibles par l’écran central auraient pu être supprimées au profit d’une ergonomie plus intuitive.

L’écran, d’ailleurs, s’avère parfois trop petit. On aurait aimé plus d’espace pour plus de lisibilité. En l’état, il s’avère parfaitement complet mais regorge d’informations. Enfin, dernier bémol, le tachymètre à aiguilles. Anachronique ? Dans une voiture dotée d’une telle intelligence embarquée, oui. On aurait aimé une surface digitale plus étendue pour, à nouveau, gagner en clarté. Il est certes flatteur au premier contact d’avoir un affichage de 747 devant soi mais, une fois la prise en main effectuée, les seules informations que l’on aime avoir en permanence devant soi sont simples : vitesse, consommation, autonomie et, le cas échéant, le GPS. Rien de moins mais rien de plus non plus.

The new Nissan LEAF: the world’s best-selling zero-emissions electric vehicle now most advanced and accessible on the planet

GPS et stationnement : objectif atteint

Le GPS est particulièrement remarquable. Précis, clair, intuitif, il s’affiche avec efficacité devant le conducteur, doublé par une commande vocale nette. Un très bon point que même des berlines de gamme supérieure n’atteignent pas toujours. Il en va de même pour le système de caméras embarquées. Elles délivrent une aide au stationnement d’une clarté exemplaire, permettant de multiples angles, au choix, pour ajuster son stationnement au trottoir, aux obstacles. On aurait presque aimé, une fois encore, que l’écran central soit plus grand pour pouvoir en bénéficier pleinement.

En termes d’aide et de capteurs, on apprécie également le détecteur d’angle mort. Si le conducteur engage un déboitement sans avoir vu un véhicule dans son angle mort, la LEAF le lui indique sans faillir. Précieux et diablement efficace, notamment pour les deux-roues qui se fondent assez facilement dans cette zone aveugle. En revanche, on passera assez rapidement sur le Pro PILOT, la conduite assistée (en option) : la régulation adaptive de la vitesse est efficace mais la conduite autonome est encore hésitante et les rappels au conducteur (mains sur le volant) bien trop fréquents par rapport à des standards déjà développés dans d’autres marques. A tester en concession lors d’un essai avant de s’engager pour 1000 euros de plus, ou bien à réserver aux seuls embouteillages.

Agrément : largement à la hauteur

Le poste de conduite et les places passagers offrent un remarquable confort. Les assises sont excellentes, la place pour les grands gabarits est suffisante en tous points. Le niveau de finition est lui aussi excellent. La LEAF n’offre que des matériaux de qualité, parfaitement finis et assemblés, avec u niveau de détail que l’on trouve rarement dans ce niveau de gamme et qui, une fois encore, n’a rien à envier à des berlines autrement plus onéreuses. On note simplement un système de dossier chauffant qui s’allume par un contacteur…sur le dossier lui-même ! Un choix assez incongru, il aurait été beaucoup plus simple de l’associer à la commande de chauffe de l’assise, située sur le tableau de bord.

Les rangements, enfin, sont assez nombreux même si de capacité modeste. Contrairement aux idées reçues, c’est une bonne chose : l’époque où l’on rangeait ses cartes routières et atlas est révolue. La LEAF offre suffisamment d’espaces pour deux téléphones à proximité du port USB, mais aussi pour des lunettes de soleil, un portefeuille et des bouteilles pour la route.

Le coffre offre lui aussi un volume très honorable, même en y laissant en permanence les câbles fournis : câble de charge sur prise domestique, 6 mètres, charge en 21h ; sur prise en 32A, 6 mètres également, charge en 7h. On apprécie, à ce registre, la charge programmable : idéal pour charger sa LEAF sur son abonnement d’électricité durant les heures creuses.

The new Nissan LEAF: the world’s best-selling zero-emissions electric vehicle now most advanced and accessible on the planet

L’essayer, c’est l’adopter

Au final, la nouvelle LEAF remplit largement ses promesses. On peut regretter un écran central un peu petit et des commandes foisonnantes à l’ergonomie perfectible. A vouloir trop en faire, trop personnaliser, les options de conduite sont parfois confuses.

En revanche, l’autonomie est excellente et la batterie parfaitement bien gérée. Le niveau de finition et de confort est irréprochable. Les caméras embarquées sont d’une efficacité remarquable et l’on conseille leur prise en option, de même que pour le stationnement automatique. Design et look sont affutés, modernes. Avec quatre niveaux de gamme dont un premier niveau à 28 000 euros, la LEAF offre une excellente position d’urbaine tout confort capable d’avaler de la route en toute sérénité. Il y avait une place à prendre entre la mini citadine et la grande berline, la LEAF l’a prise.

Ne manquez aucune news!

Devenez membre Premium en cliquant ici

Envoyer 
Tesla Magazine I 2018

Vous aimerez aussi

One thought on “Essai : que vaut la nouvelle Nissan LEAF ?

  1. Petit bémol à ajouter à la nouvelle Leaf:
    Sa gestion de l’échauffement des batteries ne s’est pas améliorée sur la nouvelle version. Le refroidissement passif de la batterie a pour malheureuse conséquence que, après une première recharge rapide par temps chaud ou modéré, il est nécessaire d’attendre plusieurs heures avant de pouvoir recharger à nouveau sur un chargeur rapide.
    En conséquence, il est virtuellement impossible de faire des trajets vraiment longs, comme Paris-Côte d’Azur en Leaf 2018. Quoique pour les sports d’hiver, ça devrait aller mieux…
    A par cet inconvénient, la nouvelle Leaf est vraiment agréable et le e-Pedal très bien dosé, comme vous le signalez!

Laisser un commentaire

*

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.