Elon Musk

Elon Musk = Tony Stark in real life ?

It’s a strong implied title, would Elon Musk be a billionaire American playboy, visionary and engineering genius? Some people will tell you he is, and they’ll prove it to you.

Playboy? Elon was married three times and had five kids.

American? Although he has been an American citizen since 2002, Mr. Musk was born on June 28, 1971 in Pretoria, South Africa, and spent a large part of his childhood in that country (until 1988).

Billionaire? Although his salary from Tesla Motors in 2014 was only one symbolic dollar, he nevertheless has an estimated fortune of US$13.5 billion, ranking him 100th in the world (http://www.forbes.com/profile/elon-musk/).

Visionary ? The first two companies that made Elon Musk rich are companies in the publishing of software and services based on the Internet, a technology that was unheard of at the time. One of those two companies is called PayPal and was sold to eBay for $1.5 billion.

Engineer ? More or less, he does not have an engineering degree, but he had started a PhD in energy physics, a higher education than that of an engineer.

Elon Musk Mk. I (Elon Musk Mark One) : Blastar (1982)

Elon Musk is a rather precocious inventor, in the sense that his first achievement dates back to when he was twelve years old. After discovering computer programming at the age of 10 on a Commodore VIC-20 , he sold his first video game two years later to PC and Office Technology magazine for US$500. Named Blastar, a web version developed in HTML5 is available for those who want to rub it in (for the bad math guys, this game dates back to 1982 anyway).

Like Tony Stark, this first achievement was a great revelation for him, and so he left South Africa to immigrate to Canada and then to the United States.

Elon Musk Mk. II : Zip2 (1995)

As with our iron man, the second achievement was what made a great turning point in his life. With the help of his brother, Kimbal, and $28,000 from their engineer father, Errol Musk, he founded Zip2, a publisher of online content publishing software for corporate information. It was after Compaq and AltaVista bought this software in 1999 that the Musk brothers obtained $307 million in cash and 12% of Zip2’s titles, which at the time was $34 million. Barely 28 years old, this sale brought Elon $22 million, a good basis to move on to its next achievement.

Elon Musk Mk. III : X.com =>PayPal (1999)

With $10 million, Elon co-founded X.com, an online banking service in March 1999. A year later, X.com acquires the famous online payment site PayPal. The purchase of PayPal by eBay in 2002 provided Elon Musk with the modest sum of $165 million.

Elon Musk Mk. IV : SpaceX (2002)

In 2002, with the help of 100 million euros and at the age of only 31, Elon Musk then founded the third company Space Exploration Technologies Corporation, alias SpaceX, of which he is still the managing director. Having always been interested in space, the objective was to reduce the costs of operating and launching spacecraft. Recently, in order to further reduce costs, SpaceX has been trying to recover rocket launchers for reuse. If they succeed, SpaceX could become very competitive in space launches, and this could bring in even more money for our engineering contractor.

spacex-commercial-resupply-missionpatch

More info on SpaceX : https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/SpaceX

Elon Musk Mk. V : Tesla Motors (2004)

We all know Elon Musk for his role in the development of Tesla Motors, which produced the Roadster and then the Model S, but do you know that he wasn’t the creator?

Indeed, Tesla Motors was founded in 2003 by Martin Eberhard and Marc Tarpenning, and Elon Musk will only acquire a stake in the company in 2004. During the financial crisis of 2008, Elon Musk, who believes strongly in the future products of Tesla Motors like other shareholders, supports the company and becomes the managing director. From that point on, you know the history of Tesla Motors, as a number of our readers are owners of one of Tesla’s cars.

For those who want to know more, visit the Tesla Mag article about Tesla Motors: https://www.tesla-mag.com/en/en/tesla-motors/.

Elon Musk Mk. VI : SolarCity (2006)

Founded by brothers Peter and Lyndon Rive, SolarCity, you could tell me that this leading company in the development of residential solar energy since 2007 has nothing to do with Elon Musk. Well in addition to their interest in clean energy, the founders are nothing more than cousins of Elon Musk. He supported them, certainly financially, in the early days of the company, and he became the chairman of the board.

For more information about this company based in San Mateo, California, you can also visit their website: or wikipedia: Please note that SolarCity would already be using Tesla PowerWalls before the public announcement. This means that, thanks to the flaw or the six-degree separation theory, it is possible to benefit from financial and technical advantages for rapid development.

Elon Musk Mk. VII : Hyperloop (2013)

hyperloop

His last invention dates back to July 2013, when he unveiled the alpha version of his very high-speed train project. According to his calculations, this supersonic train, which operates by magnetic induction in a vacuum tube, would cost ten times less to build than the Californian TGV project. Only, between Tesla, SpaceX and SolarCity, our dear Elon Musk does not have time to deal with this project, but he will help anyone who decides to build a prototype of the Hyperloop. Thus, several start-ups have been created to hope one day to see this train “run”. This is the case of Hyperloop Transportation Technologies, which relies on an army of volunteers. Amateurs, students, but also and above all hyper-specialized engineers from Boeing, Airbus and NASA who are working on the technical feasibility of this train. They do not receive a salary, but stock options. Dirk Ahlborn, CEO of Hyperloop Transportation Technologies was in Paris on Friday 26th June to present his vision at the Hellow Tomorrow conference.

EM Mk. VIII : ??? (20??)

To this day, we do not know what Elon Musk’s next invention will be. Maybe a super armor that will allow him to protect the world from evil people, or that will allow him to go to Mars. A video, which supports this theory, shows him in the presence of Tony Stark, during a Monaco Grand Prix in 2009: https://youtu.be/YcOVHoi1p40?t=1m36s

To stay informed of the next news, subscribe to the newsletter and visit the forum.

Sources

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elon_Musk

https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elon_Musk

http://ichbiah.online.fr/extraits/rebelles-numeriques/elon-musk.htm

http://www.01net.com/editorial/659042/hyperloop-le-train-supersonique-relierait-toutes-les-villes-du-monde/

elon-musk-3

Elon Musk = Tony Stark en vrai ?

C’est un titre fort en sous-entendu, Elon Musk serait-il un playboy Américain milliardaire, visionnaire et ingénieur de génie ? Certaines personnes vous diront que oui et vous le prouveront.

 

Playboy ? Elon s’est marié trois fois et a eu 5 enfants.

 

Américain ? Bien qu’il ait la nationalité Américaine depuis 2002, Mr. Musk est né le 28 Juin 1971 à Pretoria en Afrique du Sud, il a passé une grande partie de son enfance dans ce pays (jusqu’en 1988).

 

Milliardaire ? Certes son salaire provenant de Tesla Motors en 2014 n’a été que d’un dollar symbolique, il possède néanmoins une fortune estimée à 13,5 milliards de dollars américains, le classant 100ème fortune du monde (http://www.forbes.com/profile/elon-musk/).

 

Visionnaire ? Les deux premières entreprises qui ont rendu Elon Musk riche sont des entreprises dans l’édition de logiciels et services reposant sur Internet, technologie inédite à l’époque. L’une de ces deux entreprises s’appelle PayPal et a été vendue à eBay pour 1,5 Milliard de dollars.

 

Ingénieur ? Plus ou moins, il n’a pas de diplôme d’ingénieur, mais il avait débuté un doctorat en physique énergétique, formation supérieure à celui d’un ingénieur.

 

EM Mk. I (Elon Musk Mark One) : Blastar (1982)

 

Elon Musk est un inventeur assez précoce, dans le sens où sa première réalisation remonte à ses douze ans. Après avoir découvert la programmation informatique à l’âge de 10 ans sur un Commodore VIC-20 (https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Commodore_VIC-20), il vend son premier jeu vidéo deux ans plus tard au magazine PC and Office Technology, pour une valeur de 500 dollars américain. Nommé Blastar, une version web développé en HTML5 est disponible pour ceux qui veulent si frotter (pour les mauvais en maths, ce jeu remonte tout de même à 1982) : http://blastar-1984.appspot.com/

 

Comme Tony Stark, cette première réalisation fut une grande révélation pour lui, et il quitta donc l’Afrique du Sud, pour immigrer au Canada puis aux États-Unis.

 

EM Mk. II : Zip2 (1995)

 

Comme pour notre homme de fer, la deuxième réalisation a été ce qui a réalisé un grand tournant dans sa vie. Avec l’aide de son frère, Kimbal, et de 28 000$ provenant de leur père ingénieur, Errol Musk, il a fondé Zip2, un éditeur d’un logiciel de publication de contenu en ligne pour les informations des entreprises. C’est suite au rachat de ce logiciel par Compaq et AltaVista en 1999 que les frères Musk obtiennent 307 millions de dollars en cash et 12% des titres de Zip2, soit à l’époque 34 millions de dollars. A à peine 28 ans, cette vente rapporte à Elon 22 millions de dollars, une bonne base pour passer à sa prochaine réalisation.

 

EM Mk. III : X.com =>PayPal (1999)

 

A l’aide de 10 millions de dollars, Elon cofonde X.com, un service de banque en ligne en mars 1999. Un an plus tard, X.com acquiert le fameux site de paiement en ligne PayPal. Le rachat de PayPal par eBay en 2002 procura à Elon Musk la modique somme de 165 millions de dollars.

 

EM Mk. IV : SpaceX (2002)

 

En 2002, à l’aide de 100 millions d’euros et à l’âge de 31 ans seulement, Elon Musk fonde ensuite se troisième société Space Exploration Technologies Corporation, alias SpaceX, dont il est toujours le directeur général. Ayant toujours été intéressé par l’espace, l’objectif est alors de réduire les coûts d’exploitation et de lancement d’engins spatiaux. Récemment, afin de réduire encore plus les coûts, SpaceX tente de récupérer les lanceurs des fusées afin de pouvoir les réutiliser. Si ils y arrivent, SpaceX pourrait devenir très compétitif dans le domaine des lancements spatiaux, et cela pourrait rapporter encore plus d’argent à notre entrepreneur de génie.

spacex-commercial-resupply-missionpatch

 

Plus d’info sur SpaceX : https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/SpaceX

EM Mk. V : Tesla Motors (2004)

 

Nous connaissons tous Elon Musk pour le rôle qu’il a dans le dévellopement de la société Tesla Motors, qui a produit le Roadster puis la Model S, mais savez-vous qu’il n’en a pas été le créateur ?

 

En effet, Tesla Motors a été fondée en 2003 par Martin Eberhard et Marc Tarpenning, et Elon Musk n’arrivera au capital de l’entreprise qu’en 2004. Lors de la crise financière de 2008, Elon Musk, qui croit beaucoup aux futurs produits de Tesla Motors comme d’autres actionnaires, soutien l’entreprise et deviens le directeur général. A partir de là, vous connaissez l’histoire de Tesla Motors puisque pour un certain nombre de nos lecteurs, possesseurs d’une des voitures de Tesla.

 

Pour ceux qui veulent en savoir plus, rendez-vous sur l’article Tesla Mag concernant Tesla Motors : http://www.tesla-mag.com/tesla-motors/

 

EM Mk. VI : SolarCity (2006)

 

Fondé par les frères Peter et Lyndon Rive, SolarCity, vous pourriez me dire que cette société leader dans le développement de l’énergie solaire résidentielle depuis 2007 n’a rien à voir avec Elon Musk. Et bien en plus de s’intéresser aussi à l’énergie propre, les fondateurs ne sont rien d’autres que des cousins d’Elon Musk. Il les a soutenu, financièrement sûrement, lors des débuts de l’entreprise, et il en est devenu le président du conseil d’administration.

 

Pour plus d’informations concernant cette société basée à San Mateo en Californie aussi, vous pouvez vous rendre sur leur site internet : http://www.solarcity.com/ ou sur wikipédia : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SolarCity. Sachez néanmoins que SolarCity utiliserait déjà des Tesla PowerWall avant même l’annonce publique. Comme quoi, grâce à la faamille ou à la théorie des six degrés de séparation, il est possible de bénéficier d’avantages financiers et techniques pour se développer rapidement.

 

EM Mk. VII : Hyperloop (2013)

 

Sa dernière invention remonte à juillet 2013, date à laquelle il a dévoilé la version alpha de son projet de train à très grande vitesse. D’après ses calculs, ce train supersonique qui fonctionne grâce à l’induction magnétique dans un tube où le vide est fait, la construction d’une telle infrastructure coûterait dix fois moins cher que le projet de TGV californien. Seulement, entre Tesla, SpaceX et SolarCity, notre cher Elon Musk n’a pas le temps de s’occuper de ce projet mais il aidera quiconque déciderait de construire un prototype de l’Hyperloop. Ainsi, plusieurs start-up ont vu le jour pour espérer un jour voir “rouler” ce train. C’est le cas d’Hyperloop Transportation Technologies, qui compte sur une armée de volontaires. Des amateurs, des étudiants mais aussi et surtout des ingénieurs hyper pointus de chez Boeing, Airbus ou encore la NASA qui planchent très concrètement sur la faisabilité technique de ce train. Ils ne reçoivent pas de salaire, mais des stocks options. Dirk Ahlborn, PDG de Hyperloop Transportation Technologies était présent à Paris ce vendredi 26 juin pour exposer sa vision lors de la conférence Hellow Tomorrow.
hyperloop

EM Mk. VIII : ??? (20??)

 

A ce jour, nous ne savons pas quelle sera la prochaine invention d’Elon Musk. Peut-être une super armure qui lui permettra de protéger le monde des personnes malintentionnées, ou qui lui permettra d’aller sur Mars. Une vidéo, qui étaye cette théorie, le montre en présence de Tony Stark, lors d’un Grand Prix de Monaco de 2009 : https://youtu.be/YcOVHoi1p40?t=1m36s

 

Pour rester informé des prochaines nouveautés, inscrivez vous à la newsletter et rendez vous sur le forum.

 

Sources : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elon_Musk

https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elon_Musk

http://thetechiris.com/912/why-is-elon-musk-the-real-life-tony-stark-iron-man/

http://ichbiah.online.fr/extraits/rebelles-numeriques/elon-musk.htm

http://www.01net.com/editorial/659042/hyperloop-le-train-supersonique-relierait-toutes-les-villes-du-monde/