In assessing the economic aftermath of the coronavirus crisis, China is a benchmark. Indeed, the country was deconfined on April 7, well before the Western countries. We communicated on the good sales performance in the second week of April and we take stock after a full month.

Sales down sharply in April

According to The China Passenger Car Association (CPCA) Tesla sold 3635 Model 3 in April versus 10160 in March. (-64%)

This figure probably explains the tension Elon Musk is currently displaying on Twitter about the factory and Tesla Store closure measures. And when Elon Musk recalls the experience gained by his teams in China on securing production plants, perhaps he also refers to his knowledge of the economic shock implied by these measures.

In the case of China, what is all the more confusing is that sales seemed to start rising sharply again at the end of the deconfinement, and that won’t have lasted long. Still according to the CPCA, this significant drop in sales for Tesla comes at a time when the country is seeing a 10% increase in electric vehicle sales. It is therefore important to understand that the post-confinement craze is mainly benefiting domestic competition (NIO). And this is not shocking when we observe the craze for domestic production in all countries. There is no reason why the Chinese should not also think of preferring to consume locally.

Measures taken by Tesla that have yet to show their effects

In the call following the publication of Tesla’s Q1 2020 results, it was said that production costs in China were starting to fall as a result of the production line experience curve and that the prices of the Tesla Model 3 Standard Range would fall to make the vehicle eligible for the new state subsidy rules we were talking about.

There is clearly not enough hindsight to assess the effects on sales of such measures, but we understand that these are measures taken to maintain the pace of sales in China. Tesla has sold 19705 Model 3 since the beginning of the year according to the CPCA.

Source: CNBC

YOU WANT TO KNOW MORE ABOUT OUR COMMUNITY?

  • Instagram : we publish in the morning and in the evening
  • Twitter : we regularly publish our news
  • Podcast : we give the floor to owners and partners
  • Power TV: a YouTube channel that we support and that promotes electromobility
  • Tesla Magazine TV: a channel dedicated to Tesla, Space X and electric vehicles
  • Nous contacter: infos, Tips, Developments, Advertisers
  • Notre nouveau forum: share with the Tesla Magazine community

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

tesla model 3 Chine

Pour évaluer les suites économiques à la crise du coronavirus, la Chine fait figure d’étalon. En effet, le Pays a été déconfiné le 7 Avril soit bien avant les pays occidentaux. Nous avons communiqué sur les bonnes performances de vente la deuxième semaine d’avril et nous faisons le point après un mois complet.

Les ventes en net recul pour Avril

Selon « The China Passenger Car Association » (CPCA) Tesla a vendu 3635 Model 3 en Avril contre 10160 en Mars. (-64%)

Ce chiffre explique probablement l’état de tension qu’Elon Musk affiche en ce moment sur Twitter quant aux mesures de fermeture des usines et des Tesla Store. Et lorsque Elon Musk rappelle l’expérience acquise par ses équipes en Chine sur la sécurisation des usines de production, peut-être évoque-t-il aussi sa connaissance du choc économique impliqué par ces mesures. 

Dans le cas de la Chine, ce qui est d’autant plus déroutant est que les ventes semblaient repartir en forte hausse à la fin du déconfinement, ça n’aura pas duré longtemps. Toujours selon la CPCA, cette baisse importante des ventes pour Tesla intervient alors que le pays observe une hausse de 10% des ventes de véhicule électriques. Il faut donc comprendre que l’engouement post-confinement profite surtout à la concurrence domestique (NIO). Et cela n’est pas choquant lorsqu’on observe l’engouement pour la production nationale dans tous les pays. Il n’y a aucune raison pour que les Chinois ne pensent pas eux aussi à préférer consommer localement.

Des mesures prises par Tesla qui n’ont pas encore montré leurs effets

Lors du call ayant suivi la publication des résultats de Tesla pour Q1 2020, il a été dit que les coûts de production en Chine commençaient à baisser grâce à la courbe d’expérience acquise sur les chaînes de production et que les prix de la Tesla Model 3 Standard Range allaient baisser pour rendre éligible le véhicule aux nouvelles règles sur les subventions d’Etat dont nous vous parlions.

Il n’y a clairement pas assez de recul pour apprécier les effets sur les ventes de telles mesures mais nous comprenons qu’il s’agit de mesure prise pour préserver le rythme des ventes sur le territoire chinois. Tesla a vendu 19705 Model 3 depuis le début de l’année selon la CPCA.

Source: CNBC

VOUS VOULEZ MIEUX CONNAÎTRE NOTRE COMMUNAUTÉ?

  • Instagram : nous publions le matin et le soir
  • Twitter : nous publions régulièrement nos actualités
  • Podcast : nous donnons la parole à des propriétaires et partenaires
  • Power TV: une chaîne YouTube que nous soutenons et qui fait la promotion de l’électromobilité
  • Tesla Magazine TV: une chaîne dédiée à Tesla, Space X et aux véhicules électriques
  • Nous contacter: infos, Astuces, Développements, Annonceurs
  • Notre nouveau forum: partagez avec la communauté Tesla Magazine

Vous aimerez aussi

Laisser un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.